Meeting of the AEI Section

The Comité du Monument National du Hartmannswillerkopf

The Association


The Comité du Monument National du Hartmannswillerkopf (CMNHWK) is the association committed to safeguarding the memory of those that fell for their country during the First World War, be they French, German or any other nationality; to safeguarding and preserving the parts of the 1914-1918 battlefield included in the lease and enhance its touristic, memorial and educational value; to care for  and maintain the Hartmannswillerkopf National Monument and all other buildings included in the lease; to ensure the upkeep and the smooth running of the Franco-German Great War Historial, built by the Comité on State-owned property.

The CMNHWK association has the duty of passing on knowledge and mediation to the visiting public and future generations. As part of this mission, the association has created the Franco-German Great War Historial, whose foundation stone was laid on 3 August 2014 in the presence of François Hollande, President of the French Republic, and Joachim Gauck, President of the Federal Republic of Germany. The Historial was inaugurated on 10 November 2017 by French President Emmanuel Macron and German Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier

Commemorative ceremony at Harmannswillerkopf


Members of the association bureau


Mr. Jean KLINKERT - Chairperson of the CMNHWK

General (2-Star) Jacques NEUVILLE - 1st delegated Vice-Chairperson

Mr. Raphaël SCHELLENBERGER, MP for the Haut-Rhin - 2nd Vice-Chairperson

Colonel Thibaut KOSSAHL, commanding officer of the 152nd Infantry Regiment - 3rd Vice-Chairperson

Ms. Elisabeth SCHOCH - General Secretary

Mr. Guy CALLEA - Treasurer

Colonel (retired) Maryline HARTENSTEIN - Assessor

Colonel (retired) Lionel JEAND’HEUR - Assessor

Mr. Fabian JORDAN, Chariperson M2A, Mayor of Berrwiller - Assessor

Mr. Patrick REMM, Fédération Nationale André Maginot - Assessor

Mr. François SCHERR, ex-director of ONAC68 - Assessor

Mr. Gilbert WAGNER - Assessor

Mr. Jean-Paul WELTERLEN, Assessor


Bienvenue sur le site du Hartmannswillerkopf. Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous permettre de vivre une agréable expérience en ligne. En savoir plus.